Welcome to Krishi Vigyan Kendra, Jalaun

Jalaun district is one of the 75 districts of Uttar Pradesh , that falls in Jhansi division. Northern boundary of the district is naturally demarcated by river Yamuna while western boundary of the district is demarcated by Madhya Pradesh. Administratively the district is divided into 5 Tehsils namely Orai, Jalaun, Kalpi, Madhogarh and Konch and 9 Development Blocks viz.Rampura, Kuthond, Madhogarh, Konch ,Jalaun, Nadigaon, Dakore, Mahewa and Kadaura.There are 564 Gram panchayats and 942 revenue villages in the district. The geographical area of Jalaun district is 4.56 lac ha with a net cultivated area of 3.451 lakh ha, out of which 1.035 lakh ha area is irrigated. The fertilizer consumption of the district is 98.60 Kg/ha (2003-04) and the cropping intensity is 115.0 per cent. The Population is 14.55 lakh (2001 census). Sesamum, Urd, Sorghum, Bajra, Pigeon pea and Moong in Kharif and wheat, gram, field pea, Lentil & toria and mustard in Rabi are the major crops. Urd and moong veg. crop are grown in Zaid on limited scale. There are vast potentialities of exploiting the resource base of district Jalaun.

As perform live-stock census 1998, the cattle, buffalo, sheep, goat and pig population is 57575, 73600, 230779, 22122 and 4441, respectively . The cross-breed cattle, sheep and pigs constitute 3.27, 4.19 and 21.11 percent of total animal population, respectively. Though, the district has vast population of cattle, but the productivity in terms of milk is quite low. In the broad spectrum of development for rural sector, the Krishi Vigyan Kendra, Rura Mallu, Jalaun, from its very inception in 2005, inspite of insufficient staff, is performing a considerable and commendable job of rural development in district Jalaun, through its multifarious activities like Training, Demonstration, On Farm Testing ( OFTs) as well as Farm advisory services. Humble contribution is being made in a number of areas like organic farming /sustainable crop production, seed production, flower cultivation, spices cultivation, vegetable cultivation, fruit production, etc. It has established good collaboration with line departments of the district viz. State Department of agriculture, District Rural Development Authority (DRDA), State Department of horticulture, etc.